Parties call meeting over Presidential election today

Parties call meeting over Presidential election today

Legislators and Parliament members from the state are set to cast their votes in the presidential election at Vidhana Soudha on Monday.Secretariat officials have made necessary arrangements to ensure smooth polling.

"MPs and MLAs will not be allowed to carry their personal pens inside the voting hall". President Pranab Mukherjee's term is expiring on July 25.

A special pen, with special ink will be given to the MPs and MLAs and they will be required to mark their preference from among both candidates for the country's top post.

The pens have been introduced following a controversy during voting in the Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana in September 2016.

In the presidential polling on Monday, votes cast by any other pen is likely to lead to "invalidation of the vote at the time of counting under Rule 31 (1)(d) of Presidential and Vice Presidential Elections Rules 1974".

The poll panel has also prepared special posters for dos and donts so as to "ensure peaceful poll".

While the total number of votes in the electoral college of the election to the President of India is total value of MLAs vote 5,49,495 + total MPs vote 5,49,408 = 10,98,903 votes.

The contest is between National Democratic Alliance (NDA) nominee Ram Nath Kovind and candidate of several major opposition parties Meira Kumar, who was former Lok Sabha Speaker. The Election Commission (EC) has appointed several observers to invigilate the conduct of elections.

As many as 3,460 members of parliament and members of legislative assemblies have declared assets worth more than Rs. 1 crore.

Two ballot boxes along with ballot papers in two colours arrived in Bengaluru at the Vidhana Soudha on Sunday from Delhi.

Moreover, UP CM Yogi Adityanath, former Union Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi are among 41 Lok Sabha members who have been permitted to vote in their states by the EC in the polls.