United States imposes travel restrictions on N. Korea, 7 other nations

United States imposes travel restrictions on N. Korea, 7 other nations

President Donald Trump signed a proclamation on Sunday laying out travel restrictions for eight countries, including five that were subject to the previous travel ban, marking the latest chapter in the administration's efforts to limit entry to the US for certain foreign nationals.

The current ban, enacted in March and set to expire on Sunday evening, extended to travelers from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen. The travel ban for Iran, for example, does not apply to nationals under valid student and exchange visitor visas, although those visitors will have to undergo additional screening.

The travel restrictions vary based on the country.

Sudan, one of six majority-Muslim countries on the original travel ban, was removed from the list, leaving eight nations with complete or partial blocks on travel to the United States.

U.S. President Donald Trump on Sunday was considering a replacement to his executive order temporarily barring travel to the United States from several majority-Muslim countries.

The expiring ban blocked entry into the United States for 90 days and locked out most aspiring refugees for 120 days to give the administration time to conduct a worldwide review of USA vetting procedures for foreign visitors.

Donald Trump issued a presidential proclamation late on Sunday.

"Great day for America's future Security and Safety, courtesy of the U.S. Supreme Court".

White House officials said the decision to add North Korea and Venezuela - and remove Sudan - demonstrates that the policy does not amount to a "Muslim ban". "We will not admit those into our country we can not safely vet", Trump tweeted late Sunday after the new policy was announced. "The fact that Trump has added North Korea with few visitors to the USA and a few government officials from Venezuela doesn't obfuscate the real fact that the administration's order is still a Muslim ban." - said Mr. Romero.

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), which has been challenging Trump's bans in court, believes this one is no different. The order also permits, but does not guarantee, case-by-case waivers for citizens of the affected countries who meet certain criteria.

But administration officials argue the measure is necessary to keep Americans safe.

Litigation continued over the summer on who exactly was covered by the bans, culminating in a Supreme Court decision on September 12 that allowed Trump to enforce the refugee ban broadly but kept lower court restrictions that prevent close family members from being denied entry.

"As president, I must act to protect the security and interests of the United States and its people", Trump said in the proclamation. But federal courts have blocked the application of this measure.