Instant messaging app WhatsApp's recent feature "Delete for Everyone" feature is found tobe ineffective as it can remain active elsewhere in the device to be visible for recipients. First, it was Real-time location sharing, then group video and audio calling and after that "Delete for everyone". After a very long wait, WhatsApp's recall message feature aka Delete for Everyone is finally here. Further, the messages are apparently stored for a few hours on the device and are deleted if users restart their device.
WhatsApp "Delete for Everyone" feature was rolled out a few days back.
Android Jefe, a Spanish blog claims that deleted messages are present in the notification log of the device, and can be easily accessed irrespective if the text has been deleted from the sender's side.According to a Android Jefe, users' smartphones running Android 7.0 Nougat or higher version can simply download a third-party app called Notification History, which is available on Google Play. However, now it seems that receiver can read all the deleted messages. Once you install, you will have to search for the message in the Android notification log.
After all, if someone has already seen a message you accidentally sent before you manage to delete it, the worst of the damage has already been done.
Regardless of whether you retrieve deleted messages via notification history or a backup app, you need to make sure WhatsApp notifications aren't disabled. Just tap on the user icon and you will be able to see the deleted message appear. Secondly, it only works when a user has received a notification of the message. In case you restart your device - you may lose track of these messages.
On the system's notification log or on Android Settings widget, the access option leads to the notification log. From there, users will be able to see the messages. But then, yes you can actually read the deleted messages - but there are some limitations. From there, one will be able to recover the deleted text messages. Interestingly, this app does not show a preview but the entire message.
On stock Android, a Settings widget can give access to the notification log as well.
This doesn't look like it works for devices running Android versions older than Android 7.0 Nougat.
This is not the first time that reports of retrieving deleted messages have surfaced.